Beautiful Mature Deaf Queer

by allisonsoergel

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Mean Little Deaf Queer more so than any other book read this quarter. I think one of the main reasons why I liked it so much was because Terry Galloway really put the reader into her own life. I was phonetically sounding out my words with her and covering my eyes in order to feel the silent world she lives in and that is a powerful thing to achieve as an author and I applaud her. Not for just her technique but for her life overall; the struggles of being deaf, moving from place to place not knowing how your sexuality stands, and coming to terms with all of this through a theatrical personality.

I enjoyed the contrast in the novel as well. From her hiding her hearing aids and being ashamed to proudly acting on stage and being the comic relief. From wanting to become a male as a child to accepting her femininity and finding a partner later in life. And also from her brief episode of bulimia and self hate to becoming the person she always thought she would be (despite the efforts of high school counselors and people met along the way). I think these contrasts are what connected her to her personality, sexuality, and expression. The years of self hate sent her to live a life where she was the entertainer, she was the center of attention, not because she was disabled but because she was funny and through that was powerful.

I titled this blog post in a way that shows the journey Terry Galloway experienced from Germany to Texas and from cowboy outfits to Marilyn Monroe and I think this makes her a Beautiful Mature Deaf Queer that I have come to admire.

-Allison Soergel

